Undergraduate Research Symposium 2014


Once again, the Art Department had a major presence in the University’s annual Undergraduate Research Symposium, held February 8–9, 2014 in the Learning Commons. Students from all three Department majors presented their work in displays and sessions. On Friday, February 8: New Research in Renaissance and Baroque Art, chair: Lecturer Dr. Agnieszka Whelan, presenters: Andrea Dalton, Olivia Morgan, Cristina Irizarry, Carly Sutphin, and Yvonne Frederick. Art Education: Critical Thinking, Collaboration and Community Connections, chair: Lecturer Patricia Edwards, presenters: Autumn Bailey, Leanna James, Ruth Freisenbruch, and Camie Romano. On Saturday, February 9: New Research in Modern and Contemporary Art, chair: Dr. Robert Wojtowicz, presenters: Christopher Madden, Tracy Hundley, Jennifer Goodrich, Preston Mosley, and Ashley Nicole Yarsinke. Also on Saturday, Studio Art majors displayed their work and conversed with visitors: Shakira Brooks, Suzanne Burns, Margaret Bush, Sandra Connors, Yvonne Frederick, Jessica Gunsher, Rebecka Hall, Jux Howell, Karina Nigro, Frances Sahagun, Michael Santos, Zachary Stille, Patricia Tobias, Angela VanDyke, Robert Wolford, and Amelia Wood. Congratulations to all!

To view photos from the Symposium (taken by professor Elliott Jones, who was a coordinator for the event (shown in the photo above, with (on left) Lecturer Heather Bryant who also helped coordinate, and 2010 Studio Art alumna Danielle Jweid), go here.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s